Shopping cart is empty.

About The Gold Award

The Girl Scout Gold Award has evolved from a long line of Girl Scout leadership awards going back as far as 1919.  The Girl Scout Gold Award was first introduced in 1980, but has been known as the Golden Eaglet, the Curved Bar, and the First Class award throughout Girl Scout history.  The Girl Scout Gold award is the highest award a Girl Scout between 14 and 18 can earn.  Currently between 5-6 percent of eligible Girl Scouts earn the Gold Award annually.  The Gold Award recognizes the work of Girl Scouts who demonstrate leadership culminating in 80 hours or more, dedicated towards a service project that has lasting effects in the community.

Learn about more of our 2014 honorees projects in the ceremony booklet.

The Gold Award Process

The Girl Scout Gold Award represents a girl’s accomplishments in Girl Scouting and her community as she grows and works to improve her life and the lives of others. The conceptual steps include: identifying an issue, investigating it thoroughly, getting help and building a team, creating a plan, presenting your plan, gathering feedback, taking action, and educating and inspiring others. For a direct step by step guide, please see the Step by Step checklist included in the forms below.

For more information, call the Awards Helpline at 312-912-6382, or send an e-mail to


General Information

Prospective Recipient Forms and Resources

Adult forms

Gold Award Trainings are optional (but highly recommended) and will be offered throughout the year.